Participation of our school in Euroscola 2020

The first Euroscola session was realised with the participation of delegations from 21 State-Members of the European Union, i.e. with 486 students and their accompanying teachers. This session, which was also the last with the participation of students from the United Kingdom, took place on 17 January 2020 in the European Parliament building. Students, in the role of Members of the European Parliament, were divided into six committees and discussed current issues concerning the environment and renewable energy sources, safety and human rights, the future of Europe, young people’s problems with alcohol and drugs, migration and youth work. They submitted to the plenary resolutions making proposals on the issues, which were then reviewed by all their colleagues. Eight out of the twenty-four members of the Greek delegation were students of Evangeliki Model High School of Smyrna (Michail Peppas, Dimitrios Tsomokos, Eirini Papadopoulou, Despoina Dipla, Anna Drimi, Charalampos Vergadis, Danae Mpifsa and Pelagia Stamataki). Pelagia Stamataki co-presented the Greek delegation to the plenary and was voted Chairwoman of the Committee working on youth work. The student Danae Mpifsa acted as a journalist who reported on the session. Leader of the Greek delegation was the Greek teacher of our school Kalypso Lazou-Balta.